The Mind Room
The Mind Room
'I had an opportunity to redefine what I do': the para rower and architect designing a route to the Paralympics and accessible sports facilities
Preview
0:00
-6:05

'I had an opportunity to redefine what I do': the para rower and architect designing a route to the Paralympics and accessible sports facilities

Jake Woods battled bone cancer and an amputation to row for Great Britain. Now, he's setting his sights on Los Angeles 2028 - and redesigning the way sports clubs cater for para athletes

“I remember just being on the wards during chemotherapy, off my face on drugs, in so much pain and just sobbing uncontrollably at this documentary: that was when I was like, ‘Okay, we're doing this’”

The idea of finding hope in moments of despair might sound hackneyed to some people, but Jake Woods isn’t one of them. The British para athlete is recallin…

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to The Mind Room to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

The Mind Room
The Mind Room
Sport psychology insight informing people passionate about performance & mental health.
Find out more: https://themindroom.substack.com